Frequently asked questions about groups
- Active: If an invite needs to be sent to an "Active" user again, the user must be removed and re-added.
If you received an invite to join a platform app and the activation code has expired, you can still use the "Join" link in the invitation email and then choose "Request a new one" to be sent a new activation code.
Some users will ignore your group invitations - and the reasons for this vary.
It is recommended to communicate with your people before sending the invites. Let them know what's coming to encourage uptake.
If you have a platform app and can't see a specific story (or any stories) on the Discover section of the app, try the following:
- 1.Check to see the user has been added to a group that has permission to view the story. Your account agent or admin can search the group using your email address.
- 2.Check that the user is active on the group. If not send the invite to activate the user's group status.
Account agent / admin: If your users did not get an invite, please check:
A new story notification email / push notification is sent when the story is first published and made available to the group they are in. When an update is published, users will also be notified.
Below is a list of when users with access to a stream/story will or won't be notified:
- When a story is published and every time a published story is re-published, users will be notified ("Notify users" option must be selected).
- When a group is removed from a published story/stream, they will not be notified and access will just be removed.
- When a group is added to a published story/stream, they will not be notified
- When a story/stream is unpublished, nobody will be notified.
- Only users who have subscribed to a stream will be notified when a new episode is added.
We recommend adding authors and admins to both the Team and to Groups. Team members have access to all Beta stories, but will also need to be part of a Group to get specific story access.
Pending Users: The account Agent or Admin can edit the user's details.
Active Users: If the user has already activated their account, the user must edit their own details (can not be edited by the Agent or Admin).
Whilst you can remove a user from your Groups, you can not delete their account off the platform. A user may, however, request to have their data removed from the platform.